Roscommon comes from the Irish 'Ros' a wooded, gentle height and Coman, the name of the county's famous saint and the first bishop of the see. Rathcroghan was home to the Kings of Connacht and then to the High Kings of Ireland. Dr Douglas Hyde (first Irish president) was born in County Roscommon and the GAA park in County Roscommon is named after him - Hyde Park. Strokestown Park House and Famine Museum is an award-winning museum for its portrayal of the great Irish Famine. The links on this page are all relevant to County Roscommon, Ireland.

Other Links

Advertise Here